Salford Red Devils recorded a seventh consecutive top-flight victory for the first time since 1976, with a memorable win against Leeds Rhinos at Emerald Headingley.

Niall Evalds, Jake Bibby and Joey Lussick were the try-scorers, as four goals from Krisnan Inu helped the team reach a tally of 766 points scored in their 2019 Betfred Super League campaign, more in a top-flight season than ever before in the club’s history.

Defences were on top in the opening exchanges, but an offload from Inu in the 22nd minute created the first opening. Jackson Hastings then burst through and Evalds finished to go joint-top in the Betfred Super League try-scorer rankings.

The Red Devils were soon in again. This time down the left channel, as Jake Bibby found his way over to extend the lead.

The hosts were able to pull one back through Richie Myler, but a goal on the hooter from Inu meant Salford went into the break with a two-score lead.

Half-time: Leeds Rhinos 6-14 Salford Red Devils

Jamie Jones-Buchanan hit-back for the Rhinos after the interval and Rhyse Martin’s conversion put them within two points.

Salford then looked to reassert their dominance, as Tyrone McCarthy was held up over the line and Josh Jones was halted inches short.

Joey Lussick then did manage to ground the ball, when crossing from the foot of the ruck, before Inu converted to restore the two-score cushion and seal the result.

Attention now turns to the Red Devils’ final home match of the regular season, as they host Hull Kingston Rovers at the AJ Bell Stadium on Friday. Tickets for the match are available HERE.

Leeds tries: Myler (37), Jones-Buchanan (55)

Leeds goals: Martin (1/1)

Salford tries: Evalds (22), Bibby (28), Lussick (73)

Salford goals: Krisnan Inu (4/4)

Leeds Rhinos: Walker, Briscoe, Newman, Hurrell, Handley, Lui, Myler, Oledzki, Lunt, Seumanufagai, Martin, Sutcliffe, Merrin, Dwyer, Ward, Jones-Buchanan, Smith
Salford Red Devils: Evalds, Sio, Welham, Bibby, Inu, Lolohea, Hastings, Mossop, Tomkins, Dudson, Jones, Griffin, McCarthy, Flanagan, Lussick, Walker, Burke

Referee: Liam Moore

Image credit: Steve McCormick